3 Ingredient Banana Pancakes

Is it just me, or has this recipe (or some iteration of it) been crazy popular online lately? No, that’s just me? Oh, okay.

Regardless, I have seen enough versions of this somewhat controversial dish that I knew I had to try my hand at it and see what all the fuss was about. To be honest, when I first heard about it, I was doubtful. Pancakes with only 2 ingredients? Really? I’m not a huge fan of pancakes in the best of times (I know, I know, what kind of monster am I), so I couldn’t imagine that taking away ingredients would make them much better. Look these up online, and many will agree. They argue that all these are are banana flavoured eggs, or egg flavoured banana and little more. I read these reviews when I was researching this recipe and caught myself nodding my head along with the naysayers. How could these pancakes possibly work??!?!??

But they do. There were enough people online raving about how good these were that I decided to give it a try. As long as you keep in mind that these are not going to taste or feel exactly like regular flour based pancakes, you’ll be golden. They are so much more, and I LOVE them. Extremely moist, and naturally sweet, I prefer not to top them with anything, except maybe a smidge of whipped cream if I’m feeling particularly indulgent.

I also find these a lot better to make on a lazy weekend morning. I’ve always found actual pancakes too much work when I’ve slept late and am feeling drowsy and hungry for something sweet. Who wants to be measuring out ingredients in that state? Not me. These pancakes are so forgiving, and all you have to do is count to 2. Even I can manage that minutes after waking up. Think you’ve burnt your pancakes because you flip one and it’s a dark brown? Nope, it’s just the sugars in it caramelizing! Too hungry to wait long for delicious, sweet pancakey goodness? These cook up in under 10 minutes. I honestly don’t have enough good things to say about them.

You will find that most commonly this recipe is referred to as “2 ingredient pancakes” by almost everyone else, but I would argue that 3 are necessary. A dash of vanilla extract is added to the original 2 eggs and 1 banana, and this counteracts any egginess that might have overpowered the banana. It ensures that these do taste like pancakes, and not like an unfortunate scrambled egg mistake. Make these the next time you’re pressed for time but craving sweet baked goodness and thank me later. After all, it’s not polite to talk with a full mouth.

Makes 1 serving of about 7 small pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 banana, very ripe
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Peel banana and break into chunks, placing in a medium-small bowl. Mash with a fork or small potato masher, whatever you have on hand. You should end up with mostly lump free sticky goop. Small lumps are okay, but not too many.
  2. Crack two eggs into the bowl and give them a quick whisk with the fork. Stir them in with the banana if they aren’t already (You could also whisk the eggs first in a separate bowl and then stir them into the banana, but I don’t like having to do extra dishes, so I just scooch the banana to the side of the bowl while I’m whisking the eggs on the other side).
  3. Add the vanilla and stir/whisk to combine.
  4. Heat a pan over medium heat, and oil it with a neutral oil to prevent sticking. Coconut oil is nice for this, but butter also works.
  5. Pour in about 2 tablespoonfuls per pancake of the banana-egg mixture to the pan. If they don’t sizzle, turn the heat up. I find it’s easiest to only cook 2 or 3 pancakes at once, as I want to make sure I can pay attention to them, but it also depends on how big your pan is. The pancakes will be a LOT smaller than normal, but they need to be to flip nicely.
  6. Wait until they look set around the edges before attempting to flip. If they aren’t ready, wait a bit longer. If they look really dark when you flip them, don’t panic. They do that, especially after you’ve cooked one or two in the pan already. I would recommend using a very thin spatula to flip them, as they are somewhat delicate and need a gentle touch. If they tear, don’t worry, it takes a bit of practice, and you’ll soon be a pro!
  7. Top your finished pancakes with whipped cream, chocolate chips, maple syrup, fruit or whatever (or do what I do and eat them as is in a big stack) and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

