Day 10: Oh no you avoca-don’t!

Disclaimer: In no way is this my own recipe. In fact, I have changed absolutely nothing about it from the original version. Usually, the recipes I post are either entirely of my own creation, or different enough from the original source that I feel comfortable calling them my own, more inspired by their original creators than anything. This is not the case here. Angela Liddon of Oh She Glows created such a perfect avocado on toast recipe that it converted even me, a long time avocado skeptic. There is nothing that needs to be changed about this recipe. I looked and I tried to tweak it, changing up the spices, leaving out ingredients, and each time it was good…but not nearly as good as the real McCoy.

2016 has seen a lot of food trends (like spiralized everything), and avocado on toast sits high atop that list. Some high end restaurants have even received criticism for the outrageous prices they charge for what is ultimately fruit on cooked bread. When you put it like that it doesn’t sound nearly as reasonable to pay upwards of $10 a plate.

That being said, I would gladly fork over twice that for this avocado toast (which is why it’s a good thing I have this recipe to make myself at home for less than $5). I made this the other day for breakfast, and in between ecstasy-filled bites I found myself wondering why it worked so well as a dish. It’s only a handful of ingredients, and yet they play off of each other as well as that a cappella group that I can never remember the name of but that seems to be a radio favourite this time of year.

Let’s break it down: Toast is toast. It’s nothing fancy, just what you think it is, crispy bread. I suppose the kind of bread you use could make a difference, but I’m perfectly happy with my whole grain sandwich loaf. Something a little nuttier and chewier, but sturdy enough to hold up under the weight of the avocado.

Next is a quick rub of fresh garlic. Somehow it manages to be both bright and crisp, as well as soft and mellow. This was a technique I had never heard of before this, and am now fully addicted to, so thanks Angela.

A shmear of hummus goes on next. Just enough to nicely cover the bread, but not so much that it bloops all over your hands when you try to take a bite (yes, bloop is the technical term). I like a roasted garlic hummus personally (did I mention how much I love garlic?) but a basic or caramelized onion hummus goes nicely as well. Go with what your heart tells you.

Next, obviously, is the avocado. Cut into medium-thickness slices, I use half an avocado’s worth per slice. Any more and you feel overwhelmed, any less and you feel cheated. There isn’t really anything more to say, it’s avocado, you try as best you can to catch it when its ripe.

Finally, and this is possibly the most important, you sprinkle on a thick dusting of pixie dust. Okay, maybe Tinkerbell wasn’t thinking of a nine-spice mix, but trust me when I say it’s just as magical. Simultaneously smoky, salty and really really good, this is what actual dreams are made of.

Please try this. If nothing else, please try this and thank me, or rather, the Oh She Glows blog, later. You’re welcome, and merry christmas!

Serves 2 (or 4, depending on how many slices your guests like to eat)

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of your favourite bread
  • 1 large clove of garlic, halved lengthwise
  • 1/4 cup of your favourite hummus
  • 1-2 avocados (approximately 1/2 per slice)
  • 1-2 tsp 9 spice mix (to taste)
  • optional squeeze of lemon juice

9 Spice Mix

  • 1 tsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 3/4 tsp fine sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika

Directions 

  1. Mix up a batch of the 9 spice mix and keep any extra for future avocado toasts. Trust, you’ll want to make it again.
  2. Put toppings on toast in this order (as per my directions above): toast, garlic, hummus, avocado, spice mix, optional spritz of lemon juice. Done.
  3. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

