Inside Out Egg Rolls

Unpopular opinion time. I’m almost afraid to type it. I’m afraid the internet will hear me and the collective gasp will send me toppling backwards off my chair. Okay, here goes.

I like eating healthy food more than unhealthy.

And by that, I mean, I genuinely enjoy the taste and the eating of “healthy” foods more than the stereotypical “junk” or “fast” foods. Yes, even more than chicken nuggets. That’s not to say that I don’t hold things like chips or chocolate in a special place in my heart (And lord knows I LOVE a good burger. Especially one with so many toppings you can’t take a proper bite out of it). I’ve simply come to the realization that some of my favourite foods are those that taste amazing AND make me feel fantastic.

This recipe, dear friends, is one of those.

I tend to crave those fatty, greasy, salty foods at times when they would do the absolute worst damage. That is, when I’m overtired, brain dead, and hungry. Whenever I succumb to those cravings however, I feel gross and bloated after, and always, without fail, I find myself questioning if it was worth it. Clearly, on some level it is, as I have made this mistake too many times to count, but when I make a healthier choice, I feel invincible. My energy goes up, I’m proud of myself, and ready to take on the world.

In the past few years, I’ve reevaluated my definition of healthy as well. In the past, I always figured that healthy meant a salad, and called it quits there. I’ve come to realize that healthy is much more complex than that, and obviously it may mean different things to different people, depending on their situations. What I’ve tried to do, is balance my eating and get as much out of my food as possible. If I decide I really want to have that massive burger, I will, but maybe I’ll eat lighter at my next meal. I always eat a decent amount of fruits and/or veggies at every meal, no matter what. And I do my research. Those foods they describe as “super foods”? Yeah, they’re given that name for a reason. All of those nutrient-dense veggies, fruits, legumes, meats, etc. give you so much more bang for your buck, and even if it means eating a higher amount of calories, you’re eating calories that mean something.

I realize that the way I eat is not what works for everyone, and that’s okay. It’s always best to go with what makes you feel best and what is best for your body, but I’m simply sharing a strategy that has worked for me of late. It’s a lower stress way of eating, and one that allows “human moments”, ie. burgers and chips and chocolate, without making you feel guilty or like you’ve committed some terrible crime.

This Inside Out Egg Roll is so good, it’s ridiculous. It’s like eating egg roles from your favourite Chinese takeout place, but without all the scary stuff added. There’s meat, there’s veggies, and there’s so much tasty deliciousness I almost can’t stand it. But, I mean, obviously I can, as I’m sharing it with you here. Get ready to feel amazing friends. You’re worth it!

Serves 4 (generously)

Ingredients

  • 14 oz ground turkey
  • 6 tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce (or your preferred soy sauce)
  • 1 onion, chopped well
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced small
  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 5 cups finely sliced napa cabbage
  • 4 cups finely sliced bok choy (if you can find the baby type, use that)
  • 1 cup shredded or julienned carrots (the matchstick ones that are pre cut in the grocery store work super well for this. All the nutrients and none of the prep!)
  • 5 oz sliced mixed mushrooms (or just cremini, or just shiitake. A mix is good for flavour, cremini if you like a milder vibe, or shiitake for a more authentic flavour)
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 medium green onions sliced somewhat thinnish, for garnish, so however you think looks pretty.

Directions

  1. Put a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the ground turkey, and brown, breaking up into small pieces as it cooks. Pour 2 tbsp of the soy sauce onto the meat as it cooks.
  3. Add the chopped garlic, ginger, and onion. Sweat it out in the meat until it smells unbearably good, which might take about 2-3 minutes.
  4. Add the massive seeming mess of cabbage, bok choy, carrots and whatever mushrooms you decided to use, to the skillet/wok.
  5. Pour 4 tbsp of the soy sauce over everything, along with the rice wine vinegar and sesame oil.
  6. Cook all this, stirring carefully. You’re going to have a lotYou want the bok choy and cabbage to wilt, but still have a decent amount of crunch to them.
  7. Once you’re satisfied with the mix, divide into bowls, and sprinkle with the green onions and serve.

Leave a comment