Superpower Oats

Okay, here me out. I feel like every food blog you see nowadays has jumped on the overnight oats bandwagon.ย There’s a reason for that. THEY’RE REALLY REALLY GOOD. When I first discovered these, I loved them so much that I rearranged my schedule to be able to prepare them every night before I went to bed for an entire week. A WHOLE WEEK. Now I’m a bit more reasonable, but I probably still make these at least once a week, especially if I know I’ve got an early morning ahead of me.

I’ve tried other variations, but this recipe is my absolute favourite. I have a massive sweet tooth, and I love that these oats can be adjusted to fit individual preferences. They taste almost like a combination of chocolate pudding and a gingerbread oat muffin (is that a thing? It should be a thing. Let’s make that a thing, okay?).

These oats will get you up and going like nobody’s business. Even if you’re not a morning person, these overnight oats will put a bounce in your step, a song in your heart, and the general demeanour of a disney princess. Plus, you’re eating chocolate for breakfast. Do I need to say more? (If I do, I’m not sure if we can be friends, I’m sorry.)

The key to these oats I find, is the protein powder you use. I love the chocolate one Vega makes personally. In no way am I vegan (not that I don’t love a good vegan recipe from time to time) butย I really like this protein power, not only because it’s DELICIOUS but it also gives you a few servings of veggies, and who doesn’t want to feel good about their food choices first thing in the morning? That’s not to say that other protein powders wouldn’t work in it however. I personally have not tried any others, but I think that as long as it’s chocolate flavoured and delicious, you should be fine. Let me know if you use another one that works for this, I’m always willing to try new things!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup raw rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger (okay, this is a lot, but I like to taste a real gingery kick in this. If you’re not as fond of ginger, just cut it down to 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate Vega protein powder (or your favourite chocolate protein powder)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (A few things here. If you’re allergic to nuts, almond milk or soy milk would be fine. If you do use almond milk, I recommend a no-sugar-added vanilla flavoured type. I’ve had the best results with this one, but again, it’s a matter of preference. Also, you may need more than 1/2 cup. I often end up giving an extra glug of almond milk after I’ve mixed everything together, but if you’re not sure, start with 1/2 cup and see how it is in the morning. You can always add more then if you want it a little looser.)
  • drizzle of honey or maple syrup (optional. If your protein powder is sweet, don’t add too much, if any)
  • toppings, like cocoa nibs, raspberries, etc. (Don’t add these until you’re ready to eat it!)

Directions

  1. Combine all dry ingredients, except for toppings in a standard sized mason jar or sealable container.
  2. Add your liquid and stir well.
  3. Seal your jar/container and chill in the fridge overnight.
  4. In the morning, give your oats another good stir and add more liquidย if needed.
  5. Optional: you can apparently heat your oats if the idea of cold oats really freaks you out, but I haven’t tried it and I don’t really know what to tell you. Microwave it in a bowl possibly? They’re so good cold, just give them a chance.
  6. Put oats in a bowl and add desired toppings.
  7. Serve and get ready to face the day!

Disclaimer: I cannot guarantee that these oats will give you superpowers. I would like to, but I can’t. They’ll make you feel amazing though, and that kind of counts right?

Leave a Reply

